Wanderlust on the brain

cropped-sitting-21.jpg

The journey may be unknown, but that is what is exciting

I have been searching high and low for a way to make money while fulfilling my ultimate dream – travelling! I want to travel while my daughter is still young enough to be a sponge and absorb the languages and the culture, and while she is young enough to be out of school without it being too much of an issue.

I have been eagerly scouting the internet for various ideas of the kinds of jobs I could do in order to still live, but which would afford me the luxury of travelling and being a mummy. *Sigh*…there are some jobs out there that I wish I had seen in my 20’s – various backpacking, trekking and even volunteering organizations. All these fabulous companies take care of everything for you  – but then again, when I was in my 20’s I doubt these organizations existed.

But I digress…so here I am scouring through Google and pages and pages of internet to get some idea of what I could be doing which would allow me the freedom, and access, to live the life I enjoy while travelling. I came across many pages about being a travel blogger and a travel photographer – and I thought to myself – “how exciting would that be. People who end up doing that are so lucky” – but then I was hit by a eureka moment! When I was 24 I decided that I had had enough of the 9-5 lifestyle. I had  had enough of shuffling papers and living hand to mouth. If I wanted to live hand to mouth I wanted to do it in another country where the sun shone everyday and I could see all kinds of different sights, learn new languages and be immersed in a new culture.

Lo and behold, I became an overseas travel rep for a British holiday company and I was travelling twice per year and stationed in different parts of southern Europe (Spain, Balearics, Greece, Canary islands). I know!!! How could I have forgotten that I had spent 7 years fulfilling my ultimate dream!! I guess because I had to withdraw from that life for the last 5 years to immerse myself in the challenge of being a mummy, the whole concept of rejoining the 9-5 life, the shuffling papers and the mundane existence that surrounds being stationary had consumed my brain cells. Until now… I am ready again to pack my bag…and my daughters bag…and head off into the unknown again. This time however, I will be fully responsible for another humans’ well being, so whatever venture I embark on it would have to be safe and provide peace of mind.

Wish me luck bloggers!

Namaste

3 thoughts on “Wanderlust on the brain

  1. Good luck! I’m sure you are gonna make it! It’s always tough to find a job to combine traveling and working. However, it is possible and you should take the chance to do it if you get it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

